KARAOKE SCENE MAGAZINE ONLINE! - Hard Drive with .dat files...what now?? Public Forums Karaoke Discussions Karaoke Legalities & Piracy, etc... Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums Home | Contact Us | Site Map  

Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene

* Login
  * Register

* FAQ
  * Search

Custom Search

Social Networks

premium-member

Offsite Links

It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 11:54 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 8:22 am 

Been Liked: 0 time
Please bear with me...I'm a TOTAL newbie just trying to get into the karaoke business....

I got a hard drive (Iomega 500GB) with about 25 karaoke CD's ripped onto it. I was told these were CAVS files (CD+G?) but the hard drive is split into folders by disc & each contains a few ".dat" files.

So I'm wondering where do i go from here? I'd like to run my karaoke from my laptop- that was the plan...but I might buy a stand-alone player so I can rent it out. I've noticed a lot of these players have USB to connect a "thumb drive" but don't say anything about a hard drive...is a hard drive too large to process or what?

How do I convert these files? or burn them back to CD? or how would I play them directly from this hard drive? (if that's possible)

I've tried looking for info online to do this myself but I'm coming up short. I feel stupid. PLEASE HELP!!

~Sarah
EasyStreet Entertainment

Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:51 am 
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster

Been Liked: 445 times
.DAT files are typically linked to VCD (Video CD) files. The VIDEO part of the karaoke is in the VCD file, and the AUDIO portion is in the DAT file as a MPEG.

These probably originally came from DVD karaoke discs, NOT from CDGs.

Do you own the discs?

It looks like you are a working KJ/DJ, correct?